Evaluation of Health Care Innovation Awards (HCIA): Primary Care Redesign Programs, First Annual Report Volume I: Technical Report

Publisher: Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research
Nov 14, 2014
Boyd Gilman, Sheila Hoag, Lorenzo Moreno, Greg Peterson, Linda Barterian, Laura Blue, Kristin Geonnotti, Tricia Higgins, Mynti Hossain, Lauren Hula, Rosalind Keith, Jennifer Lyons, Brenda Natzke, Brenna Rabel, Rumin Sarwar, Rachel Shapiro, Cara Stepanczuk, Victoria Peebles, KeriAnn Wells, and Joseph Zickafoose

In July 2012, the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (CMMI) awarded cooperative agreements to a select group of programs proposing innovative ways to improve the quality and lower the cost of care for Medicare, Medicaid, and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) enrollees. This initiative, the Health Care Innovation Awards (HCIA), is a central part of CMMI’s overall objective of finding effective and efficient ways to achieve better quality of care, improved population health, and lower costs. The initiative also seeks to increase and improve the performance of the health care workforce through enhanced training and education, as well as to rethink the roles and functions of different types of health care workers. CMMI subsequently classified 14 of the 107 HCIA awards as primary care redesign (PCR) programs, representing a broad range of intervention models, target populations, and organizational settings.


HCIA Evaluations: Primary Care Redesign


U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation

Time Frame


Senior Staff

Victoria Peebles
Read More

Tricia Collins Higgins
Read More

Laura Blue
Read More

Linda Barterian
Read More

Joseph Zickafoose
Read More

Sheila Hoag
Read More

Gregory Peterson
Read More

Rosalind Keith
Read More

Boyd Gilman
Read More